Testimonials

Charlie, 37, was diagnosed with intellectual disability when his newborn. His parents support his daily activities and are his safety supervision. It may not difficult for ordinary people, but it is a challenge for Charlie and his family to see a doctor in unfamiliar environments.

To Charlie’s father, nothing is more important than choosing the appropriate treatment for his little Charlie. Before he contacted Joshua Taipei Hernia Center, he visited other general hospitals and compared the different surgery methods. However, if Charlie received the traditional way, he had to use the catheter, general anesthesia, and stay in the hospital for 2-3 days, which is not suitable for him.

After Dr. Chen described the surgery procedure and post-operative care, Charlie’s parents thought Integrative Hernioplasty is an ideal method for Charlie and caregivers, which is mesh-free repair, local anesthesia with IV sedation and no need catheter.

“To be honest, I’m anxious about the surgery and not sleep well before Charlie’s surgery. Although Charlie’s mental age is under 6-year-old, he’s a 37-year-old adult. It’s impossible to force him to do everything.” Charlie’s father said. Therefore, they appreciated that every medical personal could help Charlie completing all examinations step by step patiently.

Charlie finished the surgery and revisited Dr. Chen last week. When we interviewed his parents, they shared the treatment experience full of gratefulness. To us, it’s our pleasure to witnessed parents’ selfless love and be a child’s lifelong supporters with no regret.

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Mr. Josh, from Macau

I opted for Dr. Lin because he only does non-mesh repair and that is primarily what he does.  The hospital was under construction and wasn’t anything special, though I had chosen Dr. Lin as the surgeon matters the most. He diagnosed a minor left hernia and also a varicocele in my left testicle which he stated was more serious. He did a non-mesh hernia repair and varicocelectomy on the left side in the same surgery area. I just remember I was given a sedative and I was out. Awoke up a few hours later and had pain but was given painkillers. Dr. Lin explained I had a minor hernia though it was a very long and thin one, I think he also said there was some inflammation in the scrotum and the veins were engorged. I was given photographic copies of the hernia and also of the varicocele.

After that, there was a ridge or bump with metal staples and stitching which hurt and I was given medicine to make my stool loose, painkillers and antibiotics. I recommend a diet of easy to digest foods with plenty of fruit and vegetables. I also recommend doing the stretching exercises as recommended by them. I also had this device pump and used some antiseptics as shown by the nurse to take out the excess blood from my scrotum as it was in the process of healing. After I was discharged, I was advised to send pictures of these small cups in which I put the excess blood and was told to notice the color of it and Dr. Lin gave feedback online and answered any questions I had. Then 6 days after surgery, he removed my stitches and the pump.

Now it has been about 5 months and the ridge is gone and I don’t have any discomfort from the hernia, on another note it seems I don’t have lower abdominal pain anymore and it is easier to defecate. The left testicle seems slightly bigger than before and hasn’t fully descended yet though I was told by Dr. Lin it would gradually go back down and for me it is still in the process of recovery. He also offered for free to use this machine 3 months later to help with the recovery though I wasn’t able to use it as the pandemic has made traveling difficult. He also didn’t charge extra for the varicocelectomy and I rather I just paid the flat fee for the hernia repair. Finally, I want to thank James for assisting me with the medical forms which helped me to get reimbursed by my insurance company and other needs.

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

10 March 2020

Sharing of Inguinal Hernia Repair Operation Experience at Joshua Taipei Hernia Center.

My name is Foo Wah Yang, a retiree aged 66, Chinese Malaysian. I was diagnosed with an inguinal hernia on the right groin one year ago, and I just wait-and-see without treatment since it didn’t affect my daily activities then. However, recently in February 2020, I found that the hernia had grown much bigger to about an egg size, sagging into my right scrotum, and I started to feel some pain n discomfort. I went to a private medical Center in Malaysia and sought consultation from a specialist who advised me to do hernia repair surgery soonest possible before it aggravated to strangulations. He recommended the hernia repair surgery using a mesh made of plastic material. I was very adamant about a foreign object being implanted into my body. Many reviews of post-surgery patients have shown rejection of the plastic mesh and resulted in recurrences often with enduring pains.

In many cases, the patients have to suffer a second ordeal of more complicated surgical correction. After reviewing and evaluating various hernia repair approaches by many hernia centers in Malaysia and abroad, their respective risks, pros, and cons, including the renown “Shouldice” method of Toronto, Canada. Fortunately my wife found the website of Joshua Taipei Hernia Center, which promotes the use own body tissue reconstruction without mesh implantation. Immediately I called up the Center, and the Public Relations Manager James Chien (簡志軒)was so helpful and said that he could make an urgent arrangement for Joshua Taipei Hernia Center to take up my case on urgent basis. After waiting for two more days in Malaysia for flight arrangement, despite the risk of traveling in the midst of global coronavirus outbreaks, my wife and I flew into Taipei on Thursday, 27 February. Upon checking into a hotel called Eastin Taipei Hotel just next door, we went straight to the medical center.

The surgeon in charge was Dr. Chen(陳良宇醫師)and he made a preliminary physical inspection to confirm the inguinal hernia. On the following day, Dr. Chen made a more detailed inspection together with taking tests such as blood, pressure, urine, ECG, and recording of my medical history. The hernia operation was then confirmed on Monday, 2 March, 2020. Before the hernia operation, detailed briefings were given on video n by the very helpful and kind staff nurse Ms. Chen (陳允茜護理師)including post-surgery stretching exercises for recuperation, cares, and precautions. Thank god the surgery was done successfully, and most impressively, it was painless and stress-free under local anesthetic. I was put to sleep throughout the procedure, and when I woke up, the mesh-free hernia repair was already done without me even realizing it. The combination of anesthesia and sleep were done amazingly well without giving me any anxiety throughout the surgical procedure. After that, I only felt some minor discomfort as the surgical cut was rather small of less than 4 cm. After overnight in the center I was discharged on the following day morning on 3 March.

Due to my prearranged flight back to Malaysia, Dr. Chen took the trouble to return to the hospital and reexamined me on Sunday evening, 8 March, despite it was his previous rest day. The surgical stitches were removed as the wound healed very well. I asked Dr. Chen if I had to refrain from doing certain physical activities to prevent recurrences, he stressed that the whole objective of this mesh-free hernia repair is for the patients to live a normal active life like before without any constraints when it’s fully recovered normally after 3-4 months. Dr. Chen’s professional view was indeed very reassuring to me as this is exactly what I wish to be in living an active life again after the operation.

After the reexamination, I still had the opportunity to tour Taipei n then left for Kuala Lumpur on the 10 March 2020. Touchwood, so far, I feel so good after the surgical operation and would continue to do daily stretching exercises as recommended for full recuperation. I’ll provide periodic feedback to the Center for up to four months, after which the hernia surgery is considered fully healed.

From my personal experience, I would certainly want to share this mesh-free hernia repair technique by Joshua Taipei Hernia Center for its impressive painless and stress-free hernia repair method to other hernia patients as one of the references in their tedious course of searching and evaluating which surgical operation method would suite them best.

I would like to declare that I have no personal vested interest in Joshua Taipei Hernia Center. This testimony was issued by me on voluntary basis, beside sharing of my personal experience with other hernia patients, I would also want to express my earnest and sincere gratitude to Joshua Taipei Hernia Center’s highly professional and experienced medical team. They are indeed very friendly, caring, and helpful, which turned my initial anxiety before the surgery into a lifetime memorable and pleasant experience.

We wish you all great health and take good care in the midst of this global coronavirus outbreaks.

Mr. Foo,
from Malaysian

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Hi, my name is Stephen. My story is a little different from most. I have been carrying an inguinal hernia for about 20 months. The prospect of standard mesh surgery was not my preferred option. When I googled Joshua Hernia Center, I found an ideal solution-a natural tissue repair with minimum invasive treatment.

There was one major hurdle I had to cross, which was my taking was a pain for a long-ago deep vein thrombosis, and how to manage that while undergoing surgery.

To cut a long story short, Dr. Lin took me through the stages of dosage with drawer, and post-operation, the reintroduction of my dosage.Throughout my time here, my health monitored continuously. I lost counts of the many tests, which confirmed my well-being and suitability for surgery, which was a significant relief.

As to the hernia repair, the care and attention I received throughout have been magnificent, and no-one listening to me who is contemplating treatment- should have any concerns as to the professionalism shown. With a minimum recovery time of a few days at the Joshua Hernia Center, it has been an enlightening experience for me.

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Tony, Senior Management, American

In our lives, we have challenges and set backs that can take our confidence away from us.

Such is the case of having a hernia or being unsure if you have it and wondering how you will find out and what is the best method of repair.

My name is Tony, an American, businessman, father and husband who have lived on 3 continents (Europe, North America, Asia).
I currently reside in Hong Kong where I am responsible for the culture, environment, and well being of all of the Asia Pacific Employees at Ralph Lauren Corporation.
The demands at work are high, not to mention fatherhood and everything that goes along with that. If you are anything like me; which I am sure you are; you need to be at full strength and power to do your best in all of the roles that you play. You want to feel like you can do whatever you physically or mentally want to do to contribute to making you or your family and love ones proud. If you have a hernia, this takes away from this power that has made you the person you are. It takes away from your focus and your ability to be the best you can be.

This was the case for me. For quite sometime, I have had a discomfort in my umbilicus (belly button) area. What ever I did, it was always there. I am quite fit so I ruled out many things. However, after doing my research, I thought I could have a hernia. I went to a doctor in Hong Kong who examined me. He sent me to a lab to get a CT Scan. I went back to his office after a few days for the results. He sat me down and was proud to tell me no hernia was detected. He said stop being so active and just keep the body quiet and all should be good. However, the same discomfort persisted and I am not ready to live a non active life.
We only have a limited time on the earth and I want to spend it maximising my potential with my great family, and friends and work colleagues.
I started doing intense research on this subject and what I found made me very nervous.
The repair procedure for a hernia in many cases based on the research, involved a large incision, putting an artificial substance (mesh) over the effected area and stitching you back up. In addition, utilising a powerful, general anaesthesia that takes days in some instances to recover from and is more risky on the body. This discovery can put fear in the heart and mind of many people causing you not to seek any more help to fix a problem that can stop you from having that maximum power I talked about earlier.
However, I found the courage to move forward. I found the courage to not accept this as something I had to live with. I decided I was not going to live with this. More research until one day I discovered the Taipei Hernia Center in Taipei, Taiwan. The surgeon is Dr. Alpha Lin. The Chief Operating Officer is Glen. More on those two in a moment. I thought it would be just like all of the rest of the Hernia places I had researched before. I started reading about the methods used by Dr. Lin.
What I discovered is so important to anyone who thinks they have a hernia or had hernia repair surgery but the hernia came back and anyone who has been diagnosed but are afraid to move forward to repair it. I read testimonials from other patients. I read about the logistical/ operations used to ensure a smooth outcome and I researched the medical care in Taipei.
Let me start with the medical care in Taiwan. By all accounts some of the best medical specialist and medical researchers are in Taiwan. So I felt good about this. As a matter of fact, Dr. Lin and a ultra sound, highly trained, Specialist name Dr. Lee who works at the hospital, found the hernia utilising precise ultra sound techniques and physical examination. They went beyond and found what others could not.
Second, I researched Doctor Lin and his methods to repair the hernia. I was overwhelmed with Joy that Dr. Lin is a caring man with a big heart that believes in faith and a higher power that helps him perform these surgeries. But, I wanted to know more. I wanted to know the method. What sets Dr. Lin apart from all the rest is his caring heart, and the fact that he believes in natural tissue repair. No mesh. Dr Lin has perfected his method. He repairs the effected area at its core with a very small incision. I only had 4 stitches. He uses a tool to flatten the area and he stitches the effected area using a special technique similar to how fine fashion clothing are stitched together with quality and lasting power that virtually eliminates reoccurrence.
He uses a sedative so you go to sleep without the huge side effects of a strong, traditional, general anaesthesia that can linger in the body for days. He then uses a local anaesthetic while you are asleep. 30 to 40 minutes, it’s done and you are on your way to recovery. Dr Lin performed the surgery on me at about 9:30am and I was out of the hospital by about 5:30pm the same day. No overnight necessary.

Let’s talk about the logistics and operations. Glen, who is in charge of the operations is great. Everything from where to meet, when to meet, and what you needed was taken care of. I even had a car pick me up and take me back from the hospital to the hotel arranged by Glen. The day before the surgery, there is some prep work (check vital signs, chest, etc) to ensure all is okay for the surgery. Glen walk me to every station within the hospital to ensure everything went smoothly.

It has been about two weeks since Dr. Lin repaired my hernia. I could not be more happier with the modern techniques used and the logistical, operational process. More importantly, Dr. Lin is a great human being who believes! And who has faith and shows great care. He prayed with me before we went into surgery and when I came back for my check up. I will never forget my experience and whenever I am in Taipei I will see Dr. Lin and Glen and over a meal, share this story and many other great ones as I have maximum physical and mental power as a result of repairing my hernia.
The lesson learn is even if you are a little afraid; find the faith and courage to go forward and call the Taipei Hernia Center and get fix so you get your power for your family, friends and whatever you enjoy back! It is one of the greatest things that I have ever done. You can contact me through the Taipei Hernia Center for any details about the precise process and great feelings I experienced.

Tony

2016/9/19

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

I can also say that I’m very satisfied with the outcome of the surgery.

I’m Nawazir, I’m 62 years old and I travel from Jakarta, Indonesia. On April the 26th 2017, I had an inguinal hernia surgery done by Dr. Lin. Today May 2, 2017 marks the 7th day after the surgery was carried out and they had just remove my surgical staples stitches. I must say I feel surprisingly well today, in a very comfortable post-surgery state. I can also say that I’m very satisfied with the outcome of the surgery.

Now, I would like to share my experience of how and why I chose Dr. Lin and the Taipei Hernia Centre. I found Dr. Lin while I was doing an extensive research of Hernia. After hours of it, I chose to trust Dr. Lin among several other options becuase of his excellent focus on Hernia repairs as well as his success feedbacks – helping more than 20,000 people recovering from Hernia.

I am confidence to say that what Dr. Lin promotes in the website is as their competencies. Within their competencies are: an affordable surgery charge while healing faster than most hernia cases would take, and to add, I feel less pain. At first, perhaps like any of you guys who haven’t heard or experienced Taipei Hernia Centre before, i was skeptical. But all of the above really did happen to me, and I’m very pleased. The surgery it self only took 30 minutes, followed by resting in the hospital for about 6 hours. By the evening, i was already discharged.

Moreover, the team at Taipei Hernia Centre are very helpful and friendly. They help me not only medical wise, but also regarding my stay in Taipei, happy to say I made friends out of them. All in all, I am very satisfied with the hospitality and I would recommend Dr. Lin and the hospital to my acquaintances, as well as to you.

In Bahasa

Saya Nawazir, umur 62 tahun, tinggal di Jakarta Indonesia. Saya menjalani operasi hernia inguinal tanggal 26 Mei, dilakukan oleh Dr. Lin di Taipei Hernia Clinic Center. Hari ini tanggal 2 Mei 2017, adalah hari ketujuh dimana jahitan operasi dibuka, saya sangat puas atas keberhasilan operasi dan pengobatan hernia yang telah dilakukan oleh Dr. Lin dan tim serta menyatakan bahwa saya tidak salah memilih Taipei Hernia Clinic Center untuk operasi dan pengobatan hernia saya.

Saya ingin berbagi pengalaman dengan sesama yang mungkin memerlukan dan mengalami keluhan hernia. Mulanya saya menemukan benjolan dilipatan paha kanan sekitar dua bulan sebelum tindakan operasi. Menurut diagnosa dokter di Jakarta saya dinyatakan menderita hernia inguinal dan cukup shock mendapat penjelasan dokter bahwa satu-satunya cara penyembuhannya melalui operasi. Saya mencoba melakukan riset untuk mencari opsi pengobatannya dan mempelajari lebih dalam mengenai hernia termasuk resiko operasinya.

Setelah melakukan riset yang ekstensif saya menemukan Taipei Hernia Clinic Center dengan ahlinya Dr. Lin, yang fokus dalam bidang penyakit hernia dan telah melakukan operasi hernia lebih dari 20.000 pasien dengan kisah sukses yang mengagumkan. Dengan pertimbangan tersebut akhirnya saya memilih dan memutuskan berangkat ke Taipei untuk melaksanakan operasi dan pengobatan hernia.

Sebelum berangkat ke Taipei saya telah melakukan komunikasi yang inten lebih dulu dengan tim Taipei Hernia Center berupa pengisian formulir akses kesehatan, pemakaian obat yang harus dihentikan sementara menjelang operasi sepeti obat pengencer darah bagi yang selama ini memakainya.

Setelah tinggal di Taipei selama 9 hari menjalani rangkaian medical treatment, saya kembali ke Jakarta dengan rasa puas dan gembira merasakan kesembuhan penyakit hernia yang saya alami sebelumnya. Saya bisa menyatakan bahwa kompetensi dan keunggulan Taipei Hernia Center seperti diekspose di website nya, saya alami dan rasakan sendiri hasilnya. Saya bisa langsung kembali ketempat kediaman setelah menjalani operasi sekitar 30-40 menit dan istirahat 6 jam di rumah sakit, kemudian malamnya bisa menikmati makan malam di restoran disekitar kediaman dengan berjalan kaki.

Suasana lain yang bisa dirasakan di Taipei Hernia Center adalah rasa kekeluargaan dan persaudaraan baik dengan Dr. Lin maupun tim dan perawatnya, saya sangat terkesan dengan keramahan dan keakraban yang saya terima selama menjalani medical treatment.

Jakarta, 4 Mei 2017

Nawazier

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Harry, 60 years old, America

Hello, my name is Harry and I am an American from Chicago, USA. I have lived in Taiwan for many years. Eight years ago, I needed to have an operation for a hernia. I never had a hernia operation before that, so the operation 8 years ago was my first experience with it. I had that first operation at xxx medical center in Taipei. They used general anesthesia. I had to stay three nights in the hospital. They also used something called “mesh” to repair the hernia. But years later, like some people who have had mesh used to repair their hernias, I found that over the years the mesh had shrunk and had shifted position, allowing the hernia to come out again. Therefore, I needed to have it repaired. But I knew I did not want to go back to the Hospital for the “repair operation.”

I feel very lucky to have found Dr. Alpha Lin. First of all, he uses local anesthesia (plus a sedative), which is MUCH BETTER than general anesthesia and all of its side effects. The anesthesia team at the “Taipei Hernia Center” did a wonderful job. They are very professional, and I would never want general anesthesia again. Thanks to the local anesthesia method used by Dr. Lin, I had no side effects and felt much better after the operation, allowing me to spend less time in the hospital.

In addition, Dr. Lin uses a natural method of repair. He seldom use “mesh” to repair the hernia. He is one of the most experienced doctors in Asia for repairing “old mesh” from previous operations, so I really felt fortunate to find him. With minimal surgery, he was able to do the repair without making a large incision. He is a very caring doctor who sincerely tries to keep his patients comfortable. In the days and weeks following the operation, I could feel the difference. My recovery time was faster and much less painful than my first operation 8 years ago. I wish Dr. Lin could have done my first operation 8 years ago. Then I would not have needed to have this second (repair) operation!!

In summary, I can say without hesitation that the entire experience with Dr. Lin in January 2013 was much better than my first hernia operation 8 years previous. I would heartily recommend Dr. Alpha Lin and “Taipei Hernia Center” to ANYONE who needs to have surgery to repair a hernia. They are the BEST.

Sincerely,
HarryThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.”>

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Trevor, Retired U.K. Chartered Accountant Living in Thailand

Three weeks ago I had inguinal hernia surgery by Dr Lin at his Taipei clinic. I chose Dr Lin after making extensive research into the options available to me in Bangkok, Singapore, Hong Kong and also London. I am retired and living in Phuket. My decision to chose this clinic was based on the experience of the surgeon – Dr Lin states that he has performed over 20,000 hernia operations, and also the open no mesh surgery which he performs. This type of treatment seems to be uncommon in the region but favoured by the best clinics in London and North America mainly because there is no general anesthetic as seems to be the case with laparoscopic surgery.

There was little waiting time for an appointment. I arrived one evening in Taipei, did my tests the next morning and had my operation early afternoon that same day. I was back in the hotel by 5pm. Because of an imminent typhoon I arranged to see Dr Lin early the next morning and then flew back at mid day to Phuket – which was a day earlier than planned. A very short visit.

I was cared for by the clinic’s staff from arrival at the airport to departure. I have not experienced any pain or even swelling, and after three weeks my scar is healed and I am already swimming twice a day and walking reasonable distances.

I have no hesitation in giving the Joshua clinic, Dr Lin and his team, my thanks and highest recommendation. I am very happy with my choice.

Trevor

November 2016

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Reverend Huang, 87 years old

I am Reverend Huang. I am 87 years old this year. I had mesh repair on an inguinal hernia years ago at some hospital in Taipei, but the hernia reoccurred. I felt discomfort whenever I used my strength to give sermon on stage, but because of my age, I worried about the risk of spinal anesthesia and I also don’t want another mesh implant. I kept praying for the help from God, and what’s amazing is that in May 2012, my urologist referred me to Joshua Hernia Surgery Center, where they use local anesthesia, so there is no risk and inconvenience brought on by spinal anesthesia. Before the surgery, Dr. Ding-yu Lin prayed with me. I felt comfortable when I was given anesthesia. I fell asleep and didn’t feel discomfort throughout the operation. I could eat after the surgery and get out of bed to use the toilet. Now that I’m cured, I can be more enthusiastic when I preach. Thank you Lord! Hallelujah!

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Mr. Huang, 56 years old, Miaoli (retired public servant)

I have a low threshold for pain. I used to work at the public sector managing financial affairs. My work has made me a habit of paying attention to details, but somewhat neurotic at times! Dr. Lin was very patient and maintained clear communication before the surgery. He even responded to my text messages. I was very nervous before the operation. Dr. Lin even held my hand and prayed for me. I was very touched and amazed by how the fear just went away! During the surgery, I fell asleep comfortably. When I was sent to the recovery room later, my first reaction when I saw my wife was “Oh, thank God!” I didn’t feel any pain, and I could eat and go to the toilet as soon as I was at my room. I was discharged on the same day, and went back to my home in Miaoli. I have made a right choice!

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Mr. Liu, 32 years old (pastry chef)

I had hernia for 10 years. In these 10 years, I started out as an apprentice and worked my way up to become a pastry chef at the helm of the kitchen. The work requires me to roll out dough and do heavy lifting, which led to my hernia worsening. I am a single dad, juggling between work and kids. I was scared of the surgery, so I kept postponing it. Until recently, my hernia had grown as large as an eight-inch cake and the discomfort worsened. At first, the bulge can disappear on lying down, but for the past six months, the hernia cannot be pushed back. That’s when I decided to get it treated with surgery. I found Joshua Hernia Surgery Center on the internet. The doctor carefully checked my condition and my admission was arranged for me by a case manager, so my unfamiliarity to the hospital will not get in the way of the process. Before the surgery, Dr. Lin prayed for me, and this eased my fear. The procedure was quick. I was given local anesthesia and a little sedative. Once I woke up in my room, I can get out of bed to eat. Dr. Lin told me that I waited too long to be treated, so the procedure was more complicated. It’s a good thing that they are experienced, so they know to avoid mistakes that might hurt my vital organs. I urge other hernia patients to get treated as soon as possible!

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Mr. Lu, 60 years old (overseas Chinese)

Mr. Lu, 60 years old (overseas Chinese)
I live in Costa Rica. Two years ago, I came back to Taiwan to have hernia repair at a medical center in Taiwan, and it sure was a painful experience. They administered two injections for my spinal anesthesia, but the medicine failed to work. I can still feel something happening. During the surgery, I didn’t see my attending surgeon, and I wasn’t sure who performed the surgery. After the surgery, I was back at my hospital bed and realized I had a catheter inserted. It was very uncomfortable. Because I was given spinal anesthesia, I couldn’t get up, so I just lay in my bed until the evening. I couldn’t even eat. After I was discharged, the pain in my incision did not go away. When I consulted the doctor, he gave me an unclear answer, and only said that maybe my body is more sensitive. Six months later, my hernia bulged out again. I flew back to Taiwan and found Joshua Hernia Surgery Center through the referral from my brother. My hernia recurrence was confirmed by Dr. Lin. He said my chronic pain might be the result of compromised nerves due to adhesions to inadequately covered mesh. I was under local anesthesia with a little sedative during my second surgery, and I was asleep the entire time without the slightest pain. I could get out of bed and pass urine as soon as I was sent to my room. This experience was such a whale of a difference! Dr. Lin told me now the mesh is removed. After the surgery, I was not only cured, but the pain went away. I regret going to the first hospital before doing thorough research, but I’m glad I found Joshua Hernia Surgery Center to solve my problem.

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Mr. Zhang, 89 years old (retired police officer)

My father is already 89 years old. He is a retired police officer and a smoker for 50 years. His is on heavy medication for his poor heart and kidney function. He had hernia for over three years, and several doctors from different hospitals had advised against surgery, because he is at high risk for anesthesia and surgery itself. However, as the hernia grew bigger, he had poor digestion and began to lose appetite. Seeing how painful my father was, we started asking around. Eventually, we found Dr. Lin at Joshua Hernia Surgery Center, where unlike other hospitals, they use local anesthesia. Dr. Lin carefully discussed our father’s conditions, and gave his best effort in preparing for the surgery. He told my father “Chief Zhang, let’s work together!” My father went into the surgery with a smile on his face. The surgery went very well. He was cured and got his appetite back. Now he has better energy and can even go out for a stroll!

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

My suggestion to other hernia patients is to get the surgery as soon as possible. With the right doctor, you don’t need to worry a thing about the surgery or that the hernia will reoccur…

I have had hernia since I was a kid. My parents took me to a doctor, but maybe it wasn’t too serious, so I didn’t get the surgery. I thought it was possible to simply live with a hernia as I went to school, went to work, attended military service, and did strenuous exercises. Until end of last year, I did a lot of heavy lifting because I was moving to a new house. My hernia got worse. I was still able to push it back into my abdomen, but the way it hangs low when I stand or walk really started to affect my life. In the beginning of this year, I began to research and compare different types of hernia repair, and I found Joshua Hernia Surgery Center online. I decided immediately to make an appointment with Dr. Lin once I got to know the medical background of this center.

On the day of the appointment, Dr. Lin checked my condition carefully. Once he knew about my upcoming trip abroad, Dr. Lin went the extra mile and helped arranged a room for me so I could get the surgery as soon as possible. I came in alone on the day of my surgery, but with all the assistance I got from the medical team, the whole thing went swimmingly, and so did the surgical procedure. It was like falling comfortably asleep. On the same night, I could get out of bed to use the toilet on my own, and went home the next afternoon.

I am so thankful for the superb skill of Dr. Lin, for he is the one who solved my lifelong problem. My suggestion to other hernia patients is to get the surgery as soon as possible. With the right doctor, you don’t need to worry a thing about the surgery or that the hernia will reoccur. This way, you can sooner live a normal and healthy life.

February 2013, Mr. Ke from Taipei City

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

It is so important to pick the right doctor, because it avoids many unnecessary problems…

I had an inguinal hernia on my left side. My previous doctor at another hospital told me I need spinal anesthesia and had to be admitted for three days. I knew hernia repair is supposed to be a quick surgery, so their method got me hesitating and I decided to wait a while. Later, I found Joshua Hernia Surgery Center on the internet and decided to schedule an appointment after checking the doctor’s medical background.

On the day of my appointment, Dr. Lin gave me a very thorough checkup. He told me I not only have hernia, but also a varicocele, which caused me quite a bit of anxiety. However, Dr. Lin told me these two problems can be dealt with in one surgery, and then explained in detail how the surgery and local anesthesia will go. This puts me at ease, so I scheduled the surgery.

On the day of surgery, there is a case manager who helps with the arrangement. Before the surgery, Dr. Lin came to my room to calm me, so I felt more reassured. I was under local anesthesia and a little sedative. It was like the surgery happened all during my sleep. When I was sent back to my room, I can already start to eat normal food. On the same night, I can get out of bed and go to the toilet. After the surgery, my wound really didn’t hurt one bit.

I’m forever grateful for my skillful surgeon, who really alleviated my discomfort. It is so important to pick the right doctor, because it avoids many unnecessary problems. I’m glad I did a thorough comparison before I went with Joshua Hernia Surgery Center on curing my problem.

March, 2013, Mr. Zhang from New Taipei City

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

I will never forget that Doctor Lin held my hand and prayed for my well-being before the surgery.

According to the medical study, the healthcare quality in Taiwan is merely third after the United States and Germany. You probably wonder if it is worth it to travel to Taiwan for your surgery. My personal experience could be a great example for you. I spent a long time researching the best surgical centers in Taiwan. This year, I decided to come to the Taipei Hernia Center at the Central Clinic Hospital. Doctor Lin is the Director of the center. After personally visiting several different hospitals in Taiwan’s main cities, I decided that the Taipei Hernia Center would be the best place for me.

I was very grateful that the initial examination process was not rushed or hurried. Doctor Lin calmly explained the cause of my hernia, the condition of it, and the way he was going to perform my surgery. Doctor Lin has many years of clinical experience in this subject area. He suggested that I receive local anesthesia, which will have a lower impact on my heart and lungs. In addition, I received a lot of medical advice and personalized attention from the entire medical team. They kindly provided a lot of information to understand the whole surgical process. The doctors and nurses at the Taipei Hernia Center have a wonderful understanding on their patients’ concerns. They discussed and answered all my questions about possible medical complications from the surgery. The center’s website also gave detailed information about the surgery and the medical staff at the hospital.

I will never forget that Doctor Lin held my hand and prayed for my well-being before the surgery. The surgery took 30 minutes, and then I woke up in the recovery room. After three hours, I could get out from my bed and use the restroom. After one month, my wound had successfully healed.

I am very grateful to the entire medical team at the Taipei Hernia Center. Thank you very much, Doctor Lin!

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Dr. Lin’s hernia technique comes from years of practice and research……Dr. Lin and his staff are wonderful, dedicated individuals who treat patients like family.

This is the itinerary of a patient from a foreign land
1. Arrive Taipei’s Taoyuan Airport
2. Go through Immigration
3. Collect your luggage
4. A driver with your name on a sign will be waiting just outside the baggage area.
5. Ride into town (40 minutes) in a Mercedes Benz sedan to your hotel (no charge to you)
6. The Eastin Hotel is best because it is just around the corner from the Central Clinic and Hospital, not more than a 30-meter walk.
7. The Eastin Hotel is on the 14th floor of an office building. The rooms and staff are friendly and efficient
8. Next morning Glen, the Hernia Center’s General Manager, will come to the hotel and escort you to the Joshua Hernia Center on the 12th floor of the hospital.
9. Dr. Lin will meet, examine and consult with you explaining the operation
10. A big plus is Dr. Lin will pray with you for success of the operation and your recovery
11. Mr. Chen, an assistant, will escort you to the second floor for a chest x-ray, EKG, blood test within minutes, no long waiting
12. Back upstairs you will wait one half hour to forty-five minutes for the test results which come back surprisingly fast
13. Then Mrs. Chin, Dr. Lin’s nurse, and Glen will walk you to the elevator and to the operating floor
14. You will take off your clothes, put them in a locker and put on a green operating gown
15. The operation staff will walk you into the operating room and lie you down on the operating table
16. Dr. Lin will come in ready for your 20-30 minute surgery and calm you down as the staff set up the IV and preparations for the surgery
17. You will be given a mild sedative and you go to sleep
18. You will wake up in the recovery room around thirty minutes later and the bed you are on will be wheeled upstairs to a hospital room adjacent to Dr. Lin’s office on the 12th floor.
19. You may be released shortly after, or you can stay the night in that room for a few dollars more
20. I suggest you stay the night, be pampered; you deserve it.
21. Or you will be walked back to the Eastin hotel and to your room. The pain is minimal.
22. The next day, in the late morning, Dr Lin will change your bandage and instruct you how to take care of the wound.
23. Glen and Mr. Chen will help you take care of everything you need: hospital bill payment, airline confirmation, currency exchange, city tour; whatever you need to prepare for your departure.
24. The hospital will accept credit cards for payment
25. A driver will come to your hotel and assist you with your luggage, drive you to the airport, and take you to the correct airline check-in booths (no charge to you)

Suggestions:
1. Going through immigration can be a long wait. However long it takes the driver will wait for you.
2. I suggest after deplaning go to the immigration information counter, located just before the long lines, tell them you are in pain and will have surgery in the morning. They will probably assist you by wheelchair through immigration, baggage claim and out to the lobby. An hour to an hour and one half standing in line can be a painful experience.
3. No matter at what time of the day or night there will be a long line of people going through immigration (Non-citizen Visa); with as many as two to five hundred people (two or three airplane fulls) and only four immigration agents processing them.
4. Better yet, in your home country ask for wheel chair assistance to your airplane. That airline company’s agent will whisk you through immigration and to you airplane. In Taipei a wheel chair and attendant will be waiting at the airplane door to whisk you though immigration, baggage claim and out to your awaiting driver.
5. Be sure to stay at the Eastin Hotel. Drivers will pick you up and drop you off at any other hotel and take you to the hospital if you want to stay in another hotel, but the Eastin is an incredible hotel and staying there simplifies things, especially if you are experiencing culture shock.
6. Dr. Lin and his staff are wonderful, dedicated individuals who treat patients like family. They were so friendly and genuinely caring that I, honestly, didn’t want to leave, but to stay and hang out with them.

A Layman’s View of Dr. Lin’s Technique
Dr. Lin’s hernia technique comes from years of practice and research. He uses the metaphor of a volcano to describe his procedure. The hernia, a volcano, begins with an exertion tear of the abdominal muscles that encase the intestinal sac. Surrounding tissues will begin to leak out of the tear, like a volcano erupting. Over time the tissue and sometimes part of the intestines will push out creating a bulge, the volcano. It could, in males, begin to push downward alongside the groin canal toward the scrotum that holds the testicles.
Almost all hernia doctors around the world use a mesh to keep the bulge from protruding which can cause further problems because mesh just covers the bulge and does not correct the torn lesion in the abdominal wall that erupted in the first place. This type of operation takes only fifteen to twenty minutes while Dr. Lin’s procedure takes longer (about 30 minutes) because he corrects the source of the hernia.
Dr. Lin makes an incision between two to three cm in length. With a special tool he developed he gently pushes the bulge back until it is flat with the abdominal wall. He then sews that hole up to keep the intestines firmly inside where they belong. Then he begins to sew up the torn muscle tissue using an overlapping system of suturing that resembles locking your fingers together.
Since, on males, the herniated tissue probably started to move downward alongside the spermatic cord, Dr. Lin sutures around where the cord comes out of the intestinal wall on its way to the testes so that in the future no tissue will be able to follow that path, a failsafe to a successful operation. He finishes the operation by stapling the incision shut and applies a bandage.
Dr. Lin is a firm believer that most hernia could be repaired with natural tissue, while mesh involves some risks of repeated hernia or complications of a foreign object within the body.

Wayne L. Hunt
Bangkok, Thailand

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Heh-Song Wang 王鶴松, Professor of Economics

Encounter with an Amazing Doctor

About six months ago, I found a growth on my inguinal area. I was worried that it might be a malignant tumor. After a visit with my urologist, he told me that it was a hernia. Since there was no pain and no immediate danger to life, I just left it alone and went about my daily activities. One of these activities involves a habit I have of buying fruits and groceries during my evening walk and carrying them home, no matter how heavy the load or how far the distance. As a result, the size of my hernia grew quickly from a half-size to a full-size egg, and it started to bother me when I walked.

I decided to take action. Through the recommendation of my cardiologist, I arranged to have my surgery with a well-known urologist in a suburban hospital. However, three days before the scheduled operation, I was called by the hospital and asked if I could come the very next day, because there was a long queue of patients who were waiting to be operated upon. I was not ready for this abrupt switch, so I decided to cancel the operation.

By providence, my daughter gave me good news — she had researched and found Dr. Alpha Lin and the Joshua Taipei Hernia Center online; not only was Dr. Lin highly praised by former patients, the Joshua Taipei Hernia Center was located close to my home. During my first visit to the clinic, I was much impressed by Dr. Lin’s warm and cordial reception. I was shown a video presentation about the operation process, the risks of hernia repair surgery, and the costs involved. Dr. Lin also inquired about my clinical history and arranged for me to see heart, kidney, colon and anesthesia specialists for evaluation prior to my surgery.

I was anxious on the day of the operation. But when Dr. Lin held my hand to pray with him to God for a successful operation and speedy recovery, my mind was at peace. 40-minutes later, I was in the recovery room, feeling no pain, and seemed to have just woken up from a good night’s sleep. During my overnight stay in the hospital, Dr. Lin visited me three times to see if I was ok, and then responded to my daughter’s email at midnight about my surgery and post-op recovery (my daughter lives overseas). I spent the night recuperating comfortably, and resumed my normal daily activities upon my discharge the next day.

For anyone facing the possibility of hernia surgery, allow me to share with you four reasons why I would strongly recommend Dr. Lin and the Taipei International Hernia Center:

Use of local anesthesia. There are huge risks and associated ill side effects of using general anesthesia and spinal anesthesia. Dr. Lin uses a combination of a sedative and local anesthesia instead, which allows the body to recover much faster post-surgery, with less medication.

Minimally invasive surgery. My incision was small, about 3-cm, as opposed to traditional methods which would have called for an incision of about 6-7cm for my condition. Smaller incision = less body trauma = faster recovery.

Advanced technique and expertise. Dr. Lin uses an integrative hernioplasty technique, reconstructing the abdominal wall using the patient’s natural tissue, as opposed to inserting a piece of foreign material (mesh) to do a patch job. Dr. Lin has performed hernia surgery on over 20,000 patients from over 40 countries. Additionally, he had his research fellowship in Albany Medical College in New York, where he received an award for being an outstanding scholar in 2005.Holistic care for the patient and patient’s family. From the moment you meet him, you can’t help but be drawn to Dr. Lin — he is so approachable and listens so attentively as you describe your condition. Additionally, he has assembled a top notch medical and administrative team that not only works in close concert with him, but also exhibits these same caring qualities. Not only did Dr. Lin personally respond to my daughter’s inquiries after a long day of surgery, the executive director of the center, Glen Wang, followed-up proactively as well with both myself and my daughter, providing additional details and a summary of post-surgery appointments. Although the time I spent at the Joshua Taipei Hernia Center was short, the care I received left me feeling like I was a part of the extended family.

Thank you, Dr. Lin and your excellent team. May other hernia patients have the same blessing from God to find themselves under your care.

With gratitude,

Heh-Song Wang 王鶴松, Professor of Economics

Per Regulations:
Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.

Contact Us

This contact form is deactivated because you refused to accept Google reCaptcha service which is necessary to validate any messages sent by the form.

Our website will state that the effects of our medical treatment could vary depending on each individual’s health condition. We can not guarantee the results to be the same for each patient as mentioned in the testimonials.